Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Goa


Goa is a state in West India with 2 Lok Sabha seats, both of which had been bagged by the Bharatiya Janata party in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, with a vote share of 54.1 per cent. Shripad Yesso Naik of the BJP won the North Goa seat, and Narendra Keshav Sawaikar of the party was victorious on the South Goa seat. The Indian National Congress was second with a 37 per cent vote share, though it failed to win either seat.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Goa had a total of 1,060,750 registered electors, of whom 77.06 per cent, or 817440, exercised their right to franchise across 1,624 polling stations to choose their 2 Members of Parliament from among 19 candidates.
The state has 40 Assembly constituencies. In the previous state elections, held in 2017, the Indian National Congress had emerged as the single largest party here, winning 17 seats with a 28.7 per cent vote share. The Bharatiya Janata Party had won 13 seats despite a higher vote share of 32.9 per cent. With a combined vote of 38.4 per cent, the other parties and independent candidates had bagged the remaining 10 seats. While INC, the single largest party failed to form a government in Goa, the BJP managed to sew up an alliance and form a government in the state with the late Manohar Parrikar as chief minister. After Parrikar’s death in 2019 following prolonged illness, the CM’s chair is now held by Pramod Sawant.