Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Gujarat


Gujarat is a state in West India with 26 Lok Sabha seats. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata party had won all of the state’s seats with a vote share of 60.1 per cent. The Indian National Congress was the second in terms of vote share (33.5 per cent).
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Gujarat had a total of 40,603,093 registered electors, of whom 63.66 per cent, or 25,849,651, exercised their right to franchise across 1,624 polling stations to choose their 26 Members of Parliament from among 334 candidates.
The state has 182 Assembly constituencies. In the previous state elections, held in 2017, the Bharatiya Janata Party had emerged as the single largest party here, winning 99 seats with a 50 per cent vote share. The Indian National Congress had won 77 seats with a vote share of 42.2 per cent. With a combined vote of 7.8 per cent, the other parties and independent candidates had bagged the remaining 6 seats. At present, Vijay Rupani of the BJP is the chief minister of Gujarat.