Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Jammu and Kashmir


The northern-most Indian state of Jammu & Kashmir has 6 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata party and Mehbooba Mufti’s Peoples Democratic Party had won three seats each with a vote share of 32.6 per cent and 20.7 per cent, respectively. The BJP’s Jitendra Singh won from the Udhampur seat, Thupstan Chhewang from Ladakh and Jugal Kishore from Jammu. For the PDP, Mufti won the Anantnag seat, Muzaffar Hussain Baig the Baramulla seat and Tariq Hameed Karra the Srinagar seat. Despite polling 23.1 per cent of the votes, the Indian National Congress failed to open its account in the state.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Jammu & Kashmir had a total of 7,183,129 registered electors, of whom 49.72 per cent, or 3,571,537, exercised their right to franchise across 9,633 polling stations to choose their 6 Members of Parliament from among 77 candidates.
The state has 87 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2014, the Peoples Democratic Party had emerged as the single largest party here, winning 28 seats with a 22.9 per cent vote share. The Bharatiya Janata Party was second with 25 seats, though it had a higher vote share of 23.9 per cent. Omar Abdullah’s National Conference had stood third with 15 seats and 21 per cent votes, while the Indian National Congress was fourth with 12 seats and 18.2 per cent votes. With a combined vote share of 14.7 per cent, the other parties and independent candidates won 7 seats in the state Assembly. At present, there is a President’s rule in force in the state after the PDP-BJP coalition government fell apart in 2018.