Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Jharkhand


The East Indian state of Jharkhand, which was carved out of Bihar in 2000, has 14 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata party had emerged as the single largest party in the state with 12 seats and vote share of 40.7 per cent. Shibu Soren’s Jharkhand Mukti Morcha had won the remaining two seats with a vote share of 9.4 per cent.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Jharkhand had a total of 20,349,795 registered electors, of whom 63.82 per cent, or 12,986,625, exercised their right to franchise across 24,751 polling stations to choose their 14 Members of Parliament from among 240 candidates.
The state has 81 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party had emerged as the single largest party here, winning 37 seats with a 31.8 per cent vote share. The Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) had secured 8 seats and 10.2 per cent votes, while the Indian National Congress had won 6 seats and polled 10.6 per cent votes. The other parties and independent candidates, with a combined vote share of 26.6 per cent, won 11 seats in the state Assembly. At present, Raghubar Das of the BJP is the chief minister of Jharkhand.