Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Madhya Pradesh


The central Indian state of Madhya Pradesh has 29 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had won 27 of these seats with a vote share of 54.8 per cent, while the Indian National Congress, with 35.4 per cent votes, managed to win just two.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Madhya Pradesh had a total of 48,121,296 registered electors, of whom 61.61 per cent, or 29,648,105, exercised their right to franchise across 54,844 polling stations to choose their 29 Members of Parliament from among 378 candidates.
The state has 230 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2018, the Indian National Congress won 114 seats with a vote share of 41.5 per cent. Neck-and-neck in terms of vote share (41.6 per cent), the Bharatiya Janata Party, which was facing anti-incumbency in the state, won 109 seats. The other parties and independent candidates, with a combined vote share of 16.9 per cent, won 7 seats in the state Assembly. At present, Kamal Nath of the Indian National Congress is the chief minister of Madhya Pradesh.