Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Maharashtra


The West Indian state of Maharashtra, with 48 seats in the Lok Sabha, is one of the larger states. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had emerged as the single largest party, winning 23 seats with a vote share of 27.6 per cent. Uddhav Thackeray’s Shiv Sena, which had a 20.8 per cent vote share, was second with 18 seats. While the Nationalist Congress Party bagged 4 seats with 16.1 per cent votes, the Indian National Congress’ tally was 2 with 18.3 per cent votes. The Swabhimani Paksha won the only remaining seat with a vote share of 2.3 per cent.

At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Maharashtra had a total of 80,798,823 registered electors, of whom 60.20 per cent, or 48,740,403, exercised their right to franchise across 90,386 polling stations to choose their 48 Members of Parliament from among 897 candidates.
The state has 288 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party had won 122 of these with a vote share of 28.1 per cent. Its ally, the Shiv Sena, had won another 63 with a 19.5 per cent vote share. The Indian National Congress had bagged 42 seats and 18.1 per cent votes, while the NCP (17.4 per cent votes) had won 41 seats. The other parties and independent candidates, with a combined vote share of 16.9 per cent, had won 20 seats in the state Assembly. At present, Devendra Fadnavis of the BJP is the chief minister of Maharashtra.