Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Manipur


Manipur, one of the eight states in Northeast India, has two seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress had won both of these seats, with a vote share of 41.9 per cent.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Manipur had a total of 1,774,369 registered electors, of whom 79.75 per cent, or 1415131, exercised their right to franchise across 2,662 polling stations to choose their 2 Members of Parliament from among 18 candidates.
The state has 60 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2017, the Indian National Congress had won 28 of these with a vote share of 35.3 per cent. The Bharatiya Janata Party had won 21 with a 36.5 per cent vote share. The other parties and independent candidates, with a combined vote share of 28.2 per cent, had won 11 seats in the state Assembly. With no single party getting a clear majority in the state, the Bharatiya Janata Party was able to stitch an alliance and form the government, with Nongthombam Biren Singhas the chief minister of Manipur.