Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Mizoram


Mizoram, one of the eight states in Northeast India, has one seat in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress had won this lone seat with a vote share of 49.3 per cent.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Mizoram had a total of 702,170 registered electors, of whom 61.95 per cent, or 434,962, exercised their right to franchise across 1,126 polling stations to choose their only Member of Parliament from among 3 candidates.
The state has 40 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2018, the Mizo National Front had bagged 26 of those seats with a vote share 37.8 per cent. The Indian National Congress had won 5 with 30.3 per cent votes. The Bharatiya Janata Party had won 1 seat with 8.1 per cent votes, while the remaining eight seats were taken by independent candidates who together polled 23.1 per cent votes. At present, Zoramthanga of the Mizo National Front is the chief minister of Mizoram.