Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Odisha


Odisha, a state in East India, has a total of 21 Lok Sabha seats. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Biju Janata Dal had had won 20 of those with a vote share of 44.8 per cent, while the only other seat was bagged by the Bharatiya Janata Party, which polled 21.9 per cent votes.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Odisha had a total of 29,196,045 registered electors, of whom 73.79 per cent, or 21,542,724, exercised their right to franchise across 35,929 polling stations to choose their 21 Members of Parliament from among 196 candidates.
Odisha has 147 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2014, the Biju Janata Dal had bagged 117 of those seats with a vote share 43.9 per cent. The Indian National Congress had won 16 with 26 per cent votes, while the Bharatiya Janata Party had polled 18.2 per cent votes to win 10 seats. The other parties and independent candidates together won 4 seats with a combined vote share of 11.9 per cent. At present, Naveen Patnaik of the Biju Janata Dal is the chief minister of Odisha.