Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Puducherry


The Union Territory of Puducherry are clusters of 4 sets of islands spread across the eastern and western coast of India. It has one seat in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the All India N R Congress had won this seat with a vote share of 35.6 per cent. The Indian National Congress had stood second in terms of vote share (27.2 per cent) but failed to win the seat.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Puducherry had a total of 901,292 registered electors, of whom 82.11 per cent, or 740,053, exercised their right to franchise across 905 polling stations to choose their only Member of Parliament from among 30 candidates.
Puducherry has 30 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2016, the Indian National Congress had bagged 15 of those seats with a vote share 31.1 per cent. The All India N R Congress had won 8 with 28.6 per cent votes, while the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam had polled 17.1 per cent votes to win 4 seats. The other parties and independent candidates together won 3 seats with a combined vote share of 23.2 per cent. At present, V Narayanasamy of the Indian National Congress is the chief minister of Puducherry.