Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Punjab


Punjab, a state in North India, has 13 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Shiromani Akali Dal and the Aam Aadmi Party had won four seats each with vote shares of 26.4 per cent and 24.5 per cent, respectively. The Indian National Congress had won three seats by polling 33.2 per cent votes. The Bharatiya Janata Party had secured 8.8 per cent votes and taken two seats.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Punjab had a total of 19,607,992 registered electors, of whom 70.63 per cent, or 13,849,496, exercised their right to franchise across 22,019 polling stations to choose their 13 Members of Parliament from among 253 candidates.
Punjab has 117 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2017, the Indian National Congress had bagged 77 of those seats with a vote share 38.8 per cent. The Aam Aadmi Party had won 20 with 23.9 per cent votes, while the SAD-BJP combine had together won 18 seats by polling 30.8 per cent votes. At present, Captain Amarinder Singh of the Indian Nagtional Congress is the chief minister of Punjab.