Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Tamil Nadu


The South Indian state of Tamil Nadu has 39 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) bagged 37 of these seats with a vote share of 44.9 per cent. The Bharatiya Janata Party and the Pattali Makkal Katchi won a seat each with vote shares of 5.5 per cent 4.5 per cent, respectively.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Tamil Nadu had a total of 55,114,742 registered electors, of whom 73.74 per cent, or 40,644,282, exercised their right to franchise across 60,817 polling stations to choose their 39 Members of Parliament from among 845 candidates.
Tamil Nadu has 232 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2016, the AIADMK, under the leadership of late J Jayalalithaa, had bagged 134 of those seats with a vote share 41.3 per cent. The Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) had won 89 seats with 32.1 per cent votes. The Indian National Congress had won 8 seats, with 6. 5 per cent votes, while the one remaining seat went to the Indian Union Muslim League, which polled 0.7 per cent votes in the state. After the death of Jayalalithaa in December 2016, there was a turmoil in the AIADMK, which has still to fully cool down, with warring factions often taking each other on. At present, Edapaddi Palaniswami of the AIADMK is the chief minister of Tamil Nadu.