You are here: Home » Companies » News
Business Standard

Ambanis to mark the opening of Vibrant Gujarat Summit

For the first time British High Commission as well as US biz council warms up to Modi

Rutam Vora  |  Ahmedabad 

Like earlier years, the sixth edition of the Vibrant Gujarat Summit, is also going to see the country's top industrialists coming to Gandhinagar to attend the event including the

What's more this time is, the British High Commission too has warmed up to Narendra Modi's Gujarat. The (USIBC) has associated as partners for the event. Outgrowing political differences, 22 Indian states, some of which have a Congress led government, are also participating in this year's event.

Ambani brothers, Mukesh and Anil Ambani, heading Reliance Industries and ADA Groups respectively, would be present for the inaugural session of the event on January 11, with other top brasses.

The newly-appointed Tata Sons Chairman Cyrus Mistry is likely to be in Ahmedabad for the valedictory session of the Summit. Other big names include Anand Mahindra, chairman, Mahindra Group; Sunil Bharti Mittal, chairman and group CEO, Bharti Enterprises; Kumar Mangalam Birla, chairman, Aditya Birla Group and Shashi Ruia, chief of Essar Group.

Chiefs of automobile majors who have chosen Gujarat for their upcoming manufacturing hubs will also be present during the summit. RC Bhargava, chairman, Maruti Suzuki India; Joginder Singh, managing director, Ford India will attend the summit.

From overseas, Yukio Edano, minister of the ministry of economy, trade and industry (METI) of Japan will be in Gujarat for the event. Ron Somers, president, USIBC and James Bevan, British High Commissioner to India will also attend the event.

Over 50,000 delegates from India and over 1,800 foreign delegates from over 105 countries are expected to attend summit. The Vibrant Gujarat Global Trade Show will have participation from 14 different countries and over 1,000

Some of the countries which are sending huge delegations include Sweden, Finland, Italy, Singapore, China, Taiwan, Belgium, Denmark, Netherlands, Israel, Poland, Russia, Morocco, Nigeria, Algeria, Somalia, Australia, Thailand and Yunan, claimed a state government release.

First Published: Wed, January 09 2013. 20:16 IST