You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Presidential elections 2017: 100% polling in Uttarakhand, all 70 MLAs vote

CM Trivendra Singh Rawat, Speaker Premchand Aggarwal had cast their votes along with MLAs

Press Trust of India  |  Dehradun 

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat
Trivendra Singh Rawat

All 70 MLAs from on Monday cast their votes for the here, with an MLA from Bihar also exercising his franchise at the state Assembly.

According to an official spokesman, the polling started at 10 AM at a voting booth in the state Assembly. Till 2:15 PM, Chief Minister and Speaker had cast their votes along with all 70 MLAs.

MLA from Bihar Virendra Kumar also cast his here.

The NDA has fielded former Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind for the top constitutional post, while former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is the joint opposition candidate.

Counting of votes will take place on July 20 in New Delhi where all the ballot boxes will be brought from various state capitals.

The tenure of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee ends on July 24.

First Published: Mon, July 17 2017. 21:58 IST