You are here: Home » Elections » Bihar Elections » News
Business Standard

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha to go solo in Bihar Assembly elections 2020

JMM has decided to go solo in Bihar Assembly elections, said party's General Secretary Suprio Bhattacharya on Tuesday

Bihar Elections  | Jharkhand Mukti Morcha | Bihar

ANI  |  General News 

Representative image
Representative image

(JMM) has decided to go solo in Assembly elections, said party's General Secretary Suprio Bhattacharya on Tuesday.

While talking to ANI, Bhattacharya said that JMM has identified seven Assembly constituencies to contest the polls.

"We were waiting in the hope that Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) will give us seats to contest in But today we were forced to take decisions against RJD's 'Makkari' (cunningness). We have identified 7 seats on which we will fight and win," he said.

When asked whether the coalition of RJD-JMM will continue in Jharkhand, Bhattacharya said, "Here (Jharkhand) we have a different situation. We have given them more respect than they deserve. We gave them seats more than they deserve. In Bihar, they did not follow etiquettes."

Assembly poll is considered as the biggest challenge for both the alliances in the state.

In NDA alliance, the Lok Janshakti Party(LJP) will not contest seats where BJP will be contesting, however, it will fight against Janata Dal (United). Both JDU and LJP are in a pre-poll alliance with the BJP.

Kushwaha's RLSP has quit Mahagathbandhan and forged an alliance with BSP. Hindustan Avam Morcha (HAM) chief Jitan Ram Manjhi has joined NDA. The huge set back has been given by Mukesh Sahni from Vikasheel Insan Party (VIP) who announced his disassociation from Mahagathbandhan in a live Press Conference in Patna on Sunday. Congress, CPI, CPM are now part of this alliance under the leadership of Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD).

Congress leader Avinash Pandey has already made the announcement about Tejashwi Yadav being the face of the alliance which is seeking to oust the ruling NDA from power in the state.

Bihar with 243 assembly seats will go to polls in three phases: October 28, November 3 and November 7. The results will be declared on November 10.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Wed, October 07 2020. 07:53 IST