You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Cliffhanger fight in Tamil Nadu Assembly Polls: DMK leading on 10, AIADMK at 9

ANI  |  Politics 

A cliffhanger fight is on between Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) and All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) for the majority in the Tamil Nadu Assembly as counting of votes progressed in the by-elections for 22 seats.

Out of the total 18 seats of which trends are known as of now, MK Stalin led DMK is leading on 10 seats while the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Edappadi K. Palaniswami led AIADMK is lagging behind and is leading on 8 seats.

In order to secure majority, the DMK would need to win on 21 seats out of the total 22 seats. Currently, AIADMK has 113 seats, five short of halfway mark of 118 in the 234-member Assembly. DMK is next with 88, Congress 8 and Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) with 1.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, May 23 2019. 11:21 IST