You are here: Home » News-ANI » Sports
Business Standard

Hockey India announces men's team for Asia Cup

ANI  |  New Delhi [India] 

Hockey on Saturday announced the 18-member Indian men's hockey team for the Cup which takes place from October 11th- 22nd in Dhaka,

The team will be captained by Manpreet Singh while S.V Sunil will shoulder the duties of vice-captain.

After giving some top junior players some good exposure in the recent Tour, Hockey named a squad with a balance of youth and experience.

Goalkeepers Akash Chikte and Suraj Karkera retain their spot in the squad whereas defenders Harmanpreet Singh and Surender Kumar make a return after being rested for the Tour.

The 18-member team will also see the return of experienced hands in Sardar Singh, SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh and Satbir Singh.

"I am looking forward to working with the team which has been picked to have a good blend of experience and youth. The upcoming Hero Cup 2017 will be our first tournament together, and I am very excited to see how the team expresses their leadership qualities on the field. I have previously watched the team live in Netherlands, and I feel that the energy within the team and their play is very impressive. We will be focusing on performing well as a team and will be aiming to win the tournament," expressed chief coach Sjoerd Marijne.

feature in Pool A alongside Japan, hosts and Pakistan. They will start their tournament against Japan on October 11, 2017 before facing on October 13, 2017. The team will play their third and final league match of the Hero Cup 2017 against Pakistan on October 15, 2017.

Ahead of their departure for the Asia Cup, the national squad will continue their National Camp until October 5.



1. Akash Anil Chikte

2. Suraj Karkera


3. Dipsan Tirkey

4. Kothajit Singh

5. Surender Kumar

6. Harmanpreet Singh

7. Varun Kumar


8. SK Uthappa

9. Sardar Singh

10. Manpreet Singh (Captain)

11. Chinglensana Singh

12. Sumit


13. SV Sunil (Vice Captain)

14. Akashdeep Singh

15. Ramandeep Singh

16. Lalit Kumar Upadhyay

17. Gurjant Singh

18. Satbir Singh

India will play Japan in their first match on 11 October.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sat, September 16 2017. 15:11 IST