Business Standard

Jind by-poll: JPP leading after third round of counting


ANI Politics
Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) candidate Dijvijay Chautala is leading with 11,226 votes in the Jind by-poll. Counting of votes is underway.
Jind Assembly constituency went to polls on January 28.
At the end of the third round of counting, Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Krishna Lal Middha is in second place with 9,350 votes. Congress' Randeep Singh Surjewala is in third place with 5,813 votes.
The counting of votes for Jind by-election started at 8 am on Thursday amid tight security at the multi-purpose hall of Arjun Stadium here.
Returning Officer (RO) and Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM), Virender Sehrawat said that adequate security arrangements have been made at the counting centre and security arrangements have been ensured by installing 10 CCTV cameras.
Over 75.77 per cent voting was recorded in Jind by-poll, which has 2.32 lakh registered voters registered voters. The by-poll was necessitated following the death of INLD MLA Hari Chan Midha, father of Krishna Midha.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jan 31 2019 | 10:51 AM IST

Explore News