You are here: Home » Elections » Delhi Assembly Election » News
Business Standard

Delhi Assembly elections: Several prominent faces make it to AAP list

The party has denied tickets to 15 MLAs and has fielded 24 new faces. The party has given tickets to 46 sitting MLAs

Delhi Assembly Elections | AAP | Congress



The list of Aam Aadmi Party candidates declared on Tuesday includes several prominent names of the party including Raghav Chadha, Atishi and Dilip Pandey.

The party has denied tickets to 15 MLAs and has fielded 24 new faces. The party has given tickets to 46 sitting MLAs.

Delhi Chief Minister will contest from New Delhi, Deputy Chief Minister from Patparganj, Pandey from Timarpur, Atishi from Kalkaji and Chadha from Rajinder Nagar. Pandey has been given a ticket by denying it to sitting MLA Pankaj Pushkar, Chadha has been fielded in place of Vijendra Ghar and Atishi has been fielded replacing Avatar Singh.

Shoaib Iqbal was given a ticket in place of Asim Ahmed Khan from Matia Mahal.

The women candidates are - Rakhi Birlan from Mangolpuri, Bandana Kumari from Shalimar Bagh, Atishi from Kalkaji, Pramila Tokas from RK Puram, Dhanwanti Chandela from Rajouri Garden, Princess Dhillon from Hari Nagar, Bhavna Gaur from Palam and Sarita Singh from Rohtas Nagar.

Jai Bhagwan Upkar has been made the candidate by denying ticket of sitting MLA Ram Chander from Bawana, Dharmpal Lakra has been made a candidate by denying ticket from Mundka to Sukhbir Dalal.

Rajkumar Anand has been made a candidate by denying ticket from Patel Nagar to Hazarilal Chauhan.

The party has nominated Rajkumar Dhillon as its candidate by denying ticket to Jagdeep Singh from Hari Nagar.

Vinay Mishra, son of leader Mahabal Mishra, has been fielded from Dwarka in place of Adarsh Shastri, grandson of Lal Bahadur Shastri.

Virender Singh Kadian has been fielded in place of Commando Surendra from Delhi Cantt.

Ram Singh Netaji was given the ticket in place of Narayan Dutt Sharma from Badarpur and Rohit Kumar Mairolia was given ticket in place of Raju Dingan from Trilokpuri.

Kuldeep Kumar has been given the ticket in place of Manoj Kumar from Kondli.

Abdul Rahman has been fielded from Seelampur in place of Haji Ishraq.

Chaudhary Surendra Kumar will be party's candidate form Gokulpur in place of Chaudhary Fateh Singh.

Voting in Delhi will be held on February 8 and counting will take place on February 11.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Tue, January 14 2020. 23:41 IST