You are here: Home » News-ANI » National
Business Standard

Tribal Affairs Minister revises scheme for development of PVTG's


About 75 tribal groups have been identified and categorized as particularly vulnerable tribal groups (PVTGs) by the government.

To cater to their overall wellbeing and development, the Ministry of Tribal Affairs has further revised the Development of Particularly Vulnerable Tribal Groups (PVTGs) Scheme to provide 100 percent financial assistance through state governments.

The scheme focuses on activities such as housing, land distribution, land and agricultural development, animal husbandry, the construction of link roads, the installation of non-conventional sources of energy and other innovative activity.

The scheme is based on a Conservation-cum-Development (CCD) Plan prepared by concerned state governments on the basis of their requirements.

The government said that priority is accorded for the tribal community's protection and improvement in terms of the social indicators like livelihood, health, nutrition and education, so as to decrease their vulnerability.

These tribal groups are located in Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, West-Bengal and Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Fri, July 31 2015. 15:23 IST