You are here: Home » News-IANS » Sports
Business Standard

Bihar to compete in 2018-19 Ranji season

IANS  |  Kolkata 

The Board of Control for in (BCCI) on Tuesday announced that its has unanimously approved the inclusion of in the 2018-19 season.

The Sourav Ganguly-led decided to adhere to the recommendation of the Supreme Court-appointed (CoA) and decided to reinstate in next year's

"However, the committee felt in the view of the Hon'ble of India's judgment dated July 18, 2016, the North Eastern associates and affiliate members must also be considered," a statement read.

The recommendations of the will be sent to the CoA and then ratified by the BCCI general body.

If is included, the upcoming Ranji season will have 29 teams.

The Bihar Association was suspended in 2004. Bihar also suffered due to various factions claiming that their association is the recognised one.

Meanwhile, the BCCI also declared that the 2018-19 season proposes to have four groups with the introduction of pre-quarterfinals. The format will remain as the Home-Away basis.

The Deodhar Trophy is proposed to have four teams, one each from the four Ranji Trophy groups.

It was also proposed that the sequence of the BCCI 2018-19 domestic season will be in the following order -- Duleep Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, phase, T20, Ranji Trophy knockouts, Deodhar Trophy.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Tue, April 17 2018. 22:12 IST