You are here: Home » News-IANS » General
Business Standard

MNF wins Mizoram's lone LS seat

IANS  |  Aizawl 

of the ruling (MNF) was declared elected from the state's lone seat on Thursday, defeating his nearest Independent rival by 8,307 votes, the announced.

The MNF, a constituent of the Bharatiya Janata Party-led NDA, has also won the Assembly by-election in the state.

Lalrosanga, a former of Doordarshan, secured 223,509 votes (44.89 per cent). Hmar, backed by the opposition and the alliance, bagged 215,202 votes (43.26 per cent).

C.L. Ruala of the had won the seat in in 2014.

Altogether six candidates, including Lalthlamuani - the first woman to fight the parliamentary polls in - were in the fray in the constituency, which voted on April 11 in the first phase of the polls.

MNF nominee Zothantluanga won the bypoll to the seat, defeating by 7,035 votes. The by-electionwas necessitated after ZPM vacated it to retain the Serchhip constituency.

The MNF, led by Zoramthanga, had delivered a humiliating defeat to Lal Thanhawla-led government in the November 2018 Assembly polls, winning 26 seats in the 40-member house. With the bypoll win, the MNF's strength has risen to 27.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, May 23 2019. 22:08 IST