You are here: Home » News-IANS » Politics
Business Standard

Parliamentary Standing Committee on Finance to get Sansad Ratna Award

IANS  |  Chennai 

The Parliamentary on Finance will be awarded the 2018 for its outstanding performance, a top said on Monday.

"We have decided to honour Departmentally Related Standing Committees with based on the criteria like the reports presented, numbers of sittings and number of subjects selected and others," K. Srinivasan, Founder, Prime Point Foundation, told IANS.

The Foundation has been awarding top performing MPs since 2010.

"In the Indian Parliamentary system, the Standing Committees plays an important role in studying the subjects and guiding the government. Since, we wanted to create awareness about Standing Committees, we have introduced the Award under this category," Srinivasan added.

The selection of award winners was done by a consisting of eminent parliamentarians.

"M. Veerappa Moily, of the Parliamentary on Finance will receive the award at a function to be held in on Saturday," Srinivasan said.

Former West Bengal and former Chief Election of will present the awards.

According to Srinivasan, during the 16th till date, the Parliamentary on Finance had selected 67 subjects, held 84 sittings and presented 60 reports as per the data culled from the website.

There are 24 Departmentally Related Standing Committees in Parliament. Sixteen are known as Committees and eight as Rajya Sabha Committees.

"We could get data only for 16 Lok Sabha Committees. We could not get data for the Rajya Sabha Committees," Srinivasan said.

In addition, seven MPs (six from Lok Sabha and one from Rajya Sabha) will also be honoured with the for their individual performances.

He said the names of the seven MPs will be announced on Friday.

These awards were instituted by in 2010 based on the suggestion given by late celebrate achievers.

This is the only award on behalf of the to honour achievers in Parliament, Srinivasan added.



(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Mon, June 04 2018. 15:36 IST