You are here: Home » Politics » News » National
Business Standard

Will Asansol bypolls see Trinamool's first victory in the Lok Sabha seat?

The bypolls are scheduled on April 12 and the counting of votes will take place on April 16

All India Trinamool Congress | West Bengal | West Bengal Assembly polls

IANS  |  Kolkata 

Mamata Banerjee
Mamata Banerjee

Will the upcoming to the Asansol Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal's Burdwan district see the first ever victory for Trinamool Congress from there? That's the question doing the rounds in the political circles of the state.

In fact, Trinamool supremo and Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee herself is keen to see the party win the seat in the crucial industrial and coal belt of the state, which has a sizeable Hindi-speaking population.

During the closing hours of campaigning for the bypolls, Banerjee will conduct a mega rally in Asansol on April 10. A day before that, her nephew and general secretary of Trinamool Congress, Abhishek Banerjee, will participate in a 3-km road show in Asansol.

The are scheduled on April 12 and the counting of votes will take place on April 16.

Despite tasting electoral success in different pockets of the state, Trinamool has never been able to win from Asansol.

From 1957 to 1967, the Asansol Lok Sabha seat belonged to the Congress. From 1967 to 1971, the Lok Sabha constituency was under the control of Samyukta Socialist Party. From 1971 to 1980, CPI(M) held the seat, before the Congress made a comeback and held the crucial constituency till 1989. From 1989 to 2014, the seat belonged to the CPI(M).

In the 2014 general elections, BJP won the seat for the first time when Babul Supriyo got elected from Asansol. Supriyo won again on a BJP ticket in 2019 following which he also became a minister in the Narendra Modi-led Union government.

However, soon after the 2021 Assembly polls in West Bengal, Supriyo left the BJP and joined the Trinamool Congress, resigning as the Asansol Lok Sabha member, which necessitated the .

While Trinamool has fielded popular Bollywood actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha from Asansol this time, BJP has fielded fashion designer-turned politician, Agnimitra Paul, who is already a sitting BJP legislator from the Asansol (South) Assembly constituency. The CPI(M) has fielded Partha Mukherjee from Asansol.

Supriyo is the Trinamool candidate for the bypolls in the Ballygunge Assembly constituency in Kolkata, the elections for which is also scheduled on April 12.

The by-polls for the Ballygunge Assembly constituency was necessitated by the sudden demise of Trinamool legislator Subrata Mukherjee, who passed away in November 2021.



(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, April 04 2022. 19:47 IST