You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

16 ministers of ruling CPN (MC) resign in Nepal

Press Trust of India  |  Kathmandu 

Sixteen ministers belonging to Nepal's CPN (MC) today resigned from the cabinet following a decision by the ruling party.

The move came nearly three months after stripped of their portfolios after the party forged an electoral alliance with the in the recently held federal and provincial assembly elections.

alliance of and CPN (Centre) had secured 174 seats in the 275-member in the recently-concluded historic polls that many hope will bring much-needed political stability to the nation.

Former submitted the resignation of all the ministers -- 10 union and six ministers of state -- from the of (Centre) to

The party had refused to quit the even after siding with the opposition before the polls.

The CPN (MC) had been criticised for sticking to power and enjoying ministerial perks even as they were stripped of their ministerial responsibilities.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, January 12 2018. 21:50 IST