You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

67.84 pc turnout in second phase of LS polls: EC

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

A 67.84 per cent was recorded in the second phase of polls on Thursday in 95 seats spread in 11 states and a Union Territory, the said.

Barring sporadic incidents of violence, the polling went off peacefully, Senior said.

Polling was held for 95 seats in 11 states, with voting in 38 of its 39 constituencies, and the union territory of Puducherry.

While elections were cancelled in Tamil Nadu's Vellore constituency over fear of abuse of money power, poll was postponed to April 23 in (East) seat as there were apprehensions that law and order could be disturbed by miscreants.

Two violence-related deaths were reported in the past 24 hours, including that of a woman polling personnel who was killed by suspected Maoists on Wednesday in Odisha. Another death was reported Thursday. Two other people, including a voter and a polling officer, died of

There was reports of the electronic voting machines being damaged in and Uttar Dinajpur in

The interim stood at 43.4 per cent in Jammu and Kashmir, the lowest, and 78 per cent, the highest, in Puducherry.

and in went for polls in this phase.

West Bengal, Assam, Manipur, Chhattisgarh, Puducherry and reported a turnout above 70 per cent.

Referring to the issue of 'glitches in EVMs, said, a total of 1,000 ballot units, 769 control units 2,766 paper trail machines were replaced.

One control unit and at least one balot unt make up for an EVM.

He said if a ballot unit or control unit is replaced, the paper trail machines needs to be replaced along with it. "Hence the higher number of replacements."

Fourteen seats in also went to polls along with 10 in Maharashtra, eight in Uttar Pradesh, five each in Assam, and Odisha, three each in and West Bengal, two in and one seat each in and Puducherry.

Elections were also held in 35 assembly constituencies in Odisha while bypolls are being held in 18 assembly seats in

For 543 seats, polls are being conducted in seven phases: April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting will take place on May 23.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 18 2019. 22:45 IST