You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Australia win toss and bat against England in 1st Ashes Test

AFP  |  Birmingham 

Australia captain Tim Paine won the toss and decided to bat in the first Ashes Test against England at Edgbaston on Thursday.

Ashes-holders Australia have not won a match of any kind at Edgbaston since 2001, while England have won their past 11 internationals at the Birmingham ground.

Australia are looking for their first Ashes series win in England in 18 years.


England: Rory Burns, Jason Roy, Joe Root(c), Joe Denly, Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Jonny Bairstow, Moeen Ali, Chris Woakes, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

Australia: David Warner, Cameron Bancroft, Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Matthew Wade, Tim Paine(c), James Pattinson, Pat Cummins, Peter Siddle, Nathan Lyon.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, August 01 2019. 15:20 IST