You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

BJP's Praveen Datke elected Nagpur Mayor

Press Trust of India  |  Nagpur 

BJP nominee Praveen Datke was today elected as the new Mayor of Nagpur city.

He polled 80 votes against Congress candidate Arun Dawre, who secured 39 votes in election for the post.

Datke, 36, who was the leader of ruling BJP in the 145 member house of Nagpur Municipal Corporation, is the son of former Teacher-MLC late Prabhakar Datke.

In a triangular contest, Harshala Jaiswal of BSP polled just nine votes to finish third.

The elections were held at Town Hall of the civic body at Mahal in old city area.

Munna Pokulwar, an independent supporting BJP, was elected as the Deputy Mayor with 84 votes who defeated Raju Nagulwar of NCP (44 votes).

Shabhana Kamal of BSP stood at the third position with 12 votes.

District Collector Abhishek Krishna was the Returning Officer.

The term of outgoing Mayor Anil Sole (general category), who has been elected as MLC from Graduate constituency, ended recently and as per the draw the post of Nagpur Mayor was selected for an OBC candidate, official sources said.

Datke's tenure will be for two-and-half years when the present term of the municipal corporation ends.

First Published: Fri, September 05 2014. 13:56 IST