You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

Cabinet approves key components of National e-Governance Plan

The plan aims to enhance portfolio of citizen centric services and ensure optimum usage of core information and communication technology

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Image via Shutterstock.

The government on Wednesday approved the approach and key components of e-Kranti: National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) 2.0, which aims to enhance the portfolio of citizen-centric services and ensure optimum usage of core information and communication technology (ICT).

The Cabinet gave its approval for the Approach and Key Components of e-Kranti: National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) 2.0, a statement said. This is a follow up to the key decisions taken in the first meeting of the Apex Committee on the Digital India programme held in November, 2014, it added.

The objectives of 'e-Kranti' are to redefine the National eGovernance Plan (NeGP) with transformational and outcome oriented e-Governance initiatives and to enhance the portfolio of citizen centric services.

It also seeks to ensure optimum usage of core ICT, promotion of rapid replication and integration of eGov applications and leveraging emerging technologies.

With ICT infrastructure on demand, the programme also seeks to ensure cloud by default, mobile first, language localisation and security and electronic data preservation.

E-Kranti is an important pillar of the Digital India programme, the statement said.

"The mission of e-Kranti is to ensure a government wide transformation by delivering all government services electronically to citizens through integrated and interoperable systems via multiple modes, while ensuring efficiency, transparency and reliability of such services at affordable costs," it added.

The programme management structure approved for Digital India programme would be used for monitoring implementation of e-Kranti and also for providing a forum to ascertain views of all stakeholders, overseeing implementation, resolving inter-Ministerial issues and ensuring speedy sanction of projects.

Key components of the management structure would include the Cabinet Committee on Economic Affairs (CCEA) for according approval to projects according to the financial provisions, a Monitoring Committee on Digital India headed by the Prime Minister and Digital India Advisory Group chaired by the Minister of Communications and IT. An Apex Committee chaired by the Cabinet Secretary and the Expenditure Finance Committee (EFC)/Committee on Non Plan Expenditure (CNE) would also be a part.

The Apex Committee, headed by the Cabinet Secretary, would undertake addition/deletion of Mission Mode Projects (MMPs), which are considered to be appropriate and resolve inter-ministerial issues.

"The thrust areas of the e-Kranti - electronic delivery of services under the Digital India programme are Technology for Education (e-Education), Health (e-Healthcare), Farmers, Financial Inclusion, Planning, Justice, Security, Planning and Cyber Security," it said.

First Published: Thu, March 26 2015. 00:31 IST