You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Karun Nair, Dubey shine as K'taka ends TN's winning run

Press Trust of India  |  Viziangaram (AP) 

A superb ton by discard Karun Nair and a four-wicket haul by leggie Pravin Dubey helped end Tamil Nadu's winning streak with a 78-run win in the Trophy South Zone T20 tournament here today.

Nair's knock of 111 was instrumental in posting 179 for 9 in 20 overs after being sent in to bat by skipper

was bowled out for 101 in 16.3 overs.

No other batsman crossed 20 even as Nair, who opened the innings, smashed eight fours and eight sixes in his 52-ball effort.

The only significant partnership was the one between Nair and R Samarth for the third wicket, which yield 83 runs.

The centurion kept going despite the team losing wickets at regular intervals.

Rookie slinger Athisayaraj Davidson with a five-wicket haul played a huge role in restricting Karnataka to 179 after they looked set for a big score at one stage.

Nair was among his victims as he ran through the lower order to finish with 5 for 30.

was in early trouble during the chase, losing opener Abhinav Mukund (1) and the prolific Dinesh Karthik (0), who had scored three successive fifties, to a run-out in the first two overs.

Despite a 48-run partnership between M S Washington Sundar (34) and Shankar (20), things went downhill for Tamil Nadu after they were separated.

Dubey, who ended Sundar's stay, took three other wickets including that of the aggressive N Jagadeesan (16) to send Tamil Nadu hurtling to defeat.

Meanwhile in matches played at Visakhapatnam, Andhra Pradesh beat by six wickets riding on Ricky Bhui's 73, while outplayed by nine wickets.

Three teams - Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Andhra - have 12 points after four games while has 8 and (4).

has lost all its matches.

Brief scores: Karnataka 179 for 9 in 20 overs (Karun Nair 111, Athisayaraj Davidson 5 for 30) beat Tamil Nadu 101 all out in 16.3 overs (M S 34, Pravin Dubey 4 for 19). Points: Karnataka: 4; TN: 0.

At Visakhapatnam: 129 for 9 in 20 overs (B Sandeep 39, Harishankar Reddy 3 for 30) lost to Andhra 133 for 4 in 18.2 overs (73, 3 for 26).

Points: Andhra: 4; Hyderabad: 0.

138 for 8 in 20 overs (Keenan 36, K M Asif 3 for 25, 3 for 30) lost to 140 for 1 in 15.5 overs (Sanju Samson 65 not out, K B Arun Karthick 37 not out). Points: Kerala: 4; Goa: 0.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Fri, January 12 2018. 18:01 IST