Business Standard

LS polls: Seven candidates file nominations in Gujarat


Press Trust of India Ahmedabad
Seven candidates, including two sitting BJP MPs, filed their nomination papers Friday for the next month's Lok Sabha polls in Gujarat, a senior official said.
Though the notification to file nominations was issued on March 28, all the seven candidates submitted their papers Friday, said a release issued by the state Chief Electoral Officer S Murli Krishna.
Those who filed their papers included Union minister and sitting BJP MP from Dahod, Jasvantsinh Bhabhor, and BJP MP from Vadodara Ranjanben Bhatt.
One Shankar Amaliyar of the BJP also filed his candidature from Dahod (ST) as a dummy candidate for Bhabhor.
In Surendranagar, BJP nominee Mahendra Munjpara along with his dummy candidate Shankar Koli submitted their nomination papers to the district election authorities, said the release.
Piyush Dhameliya of the Real Democratic Party filed his papers for the Surat seat.
Independent candidate Bhavna Jadeja submitted her papers for the Jamnagar seat, said the release.
The last date to submit nomination papers is April 4 and polling on all the 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat will be held in a single phase on April 23.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Mar 29 2019 | 8:45 PM IST

Explore News