You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Malappuram LS bypoll counting tomorrow

Press Trust of India 

Counting of votes polled for the April 12 Malappuram bypoll will be held tomorrow.

The counting would begin by 8 am at the College here and the final were expected by 11 am, official sources said.

The EVMs are kept under tight security cover of state police and central force, they said.

The bypoll was necessitated following the demise of E Ahamed, a former Union Minister and leader of IUML, a key partner in the Congress-led Opposition in the state.

Though the Muslim-dominated Malappuram was generally considered as a bastion of IUML, ruling CPI(M) and claim that the political wind would blow in a different direction this time.

Congress-led candidate and IUML General Secretary P K Kunhalikutty, candidate M B Faisal (CPI-M) and nominee N Sreeprakash of were the main contestants in the fray.

Six independents are also trying their luck from the constituency.

A total of 71.33 per cent voters exercised their franchise in the bypoll, against the 71.11 per cent recorded in the last Parliament election here.

Of the total 13,12,693 electorates, 9,36,315 persons including 4,93,433 women exercised their franchise.

In the 2014 elections, Ahamed had won the seat by a margin of 1,94,739 votes against CPI(M)'s P K Sainaba.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, April 16 2017. 18:48 IST