Business Standard

Motion of thanks to Prez address passed by Parliament


Press Trust of India New Delhi
A motion of thanks to President for his address to the joint sitting of Parliament was passed by voice-vote in Rajya Sabha after Opposition Congress withdrew more than 200 amendments it had moved.
After the Prime Minister's reply to the debate that lasted 13 hours and saw participation of 50 speakers from different parties, the House passed the motion expressing gratitude to the President.
The Congress withdrew over 200 amendments and the ones moved by the CPI and the CPM negated by voice vote.
CPM leader TK Rangarajan pressed for voting on one of his amendments but withdrew another bunch. D Raja of CPI however pressed his amendment but the same was negated with voice vote.
Congress members Chhaya Verma, T Subirammi Reddy and Ripun Bora had moved amendments to the Motion of thanks but withdrew them.
The Motion was passed on Tuesday by Lok Sabha.

Disclaimer: No Business Standard Journalist was involved in creation of this content

Don't miss the most important news and views of the day. Get them on our Telegram channel

First Published: Jun 26 2019 | 5:30 PM IST

Explore News