You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Neiphiu Rio takes oath as Nagaland CM

Press Trust of India  |  Kohima 

was today as by P B Acharya at a public function here.

This is Rio's fourth time as the of the Northeastern state.

Rio is heading the 'People's Democratic Alliance' government in partnership with the in the state.

BJP's Y Patton was administered the oath as the Deputy by the

Ten other ministers were also administered the oath of office. The ten included five from the BJP, three from the (NDPP), an independent and a JD(U) MLA.

Nirmala Sitharaman, Kiren Rijiju, and the party were present at the swearing-in ceremony.

The outgoing chief minister T R Zeliang was also present at the function.

The chief ministers of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, and also attended Rio's swearing-in.

Rio had staked claim to form the government on March 4 with the support of 32 legislators in the 60-member House -- 18 MLAs of NDPP, 12 of the BJP, one of the JD(U) and an independent MLA.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, March 08 2018. 13:35 IST