You are here: Home » Elections » News
Business Standard

Odisha results: Naveen on course for 5th term as CM, BJD leads in 89 seats

Chief Minister and BJD President Naveen Patnaik is leading in both Bijepur and his home turf Hinjili Assembly constituencies

Press Trust of India  |  Bhubaneswar 

Naveen Patnaik Pic: Twitter

The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) is surging ahead with its candidates leading in 89 assembly constituencies, while BJP nominees are leading in 28 segments as per the latest trends available, officials said Thursday.

has 147 members assembly. Polling in Patkura assembly segment in Kendrapara district was postponed in view of the death of a candidate and again due to cyclone Fani.

Congress nominees are leading in 13 assembly constituencies, while a JMM candidate and an independent are also ahead as per trends available for 132 assembly seats.

Chief Minister and BJD President is leading in both Bijepur and his home turf Hinjili Assembly constituencies.

Patnaik is Chief Minister of continously for the past 19 years and the trends indicate that he is all set to occupy the chair for the fifth successive term.

Patnaik is ahead of his nearest BJP nominee Sanat Kumar Gartia in Bijepur, while he is leading over Congress candidate Pitambar Acharya of Congress in Hinjili assembly constituency.

Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) President Niranjan Patnaik is trailing behind BJD candidates in Both Ghasipura and Bhandaripokhari assembly segments.

BJP legislature party leader K V Singhdeo is trailing behind BJD's Saroj Kumar Meher in Patnagarh Assembly seat which the saffron leader represented in the outgoing House, they said.

State Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat of BJD is trailing behind BJP candidate Susant Kumar Pradhan by, while leader of opposition of Congress Narasingha Mishra is leading over his nearest BJD rival Arkesh Narayan Singhdeo in Bolangir assembly segment.

Apart from Bolangir, Congress candidates are also leading in 12 other assembly segments including Chitrakonda, Gunupur, Soro, Sanakhemhndi and Jatni.

Among the 89 assembly segments where BJD candidates were ahead are Dhenkanal, Nabarangpur, Hindol and Pallahara, Attabira, apart from Patnagarh in Balangir district.

Ruling BJD candidates are also leading in Bhubaneswar (Central) and Bhubaneswar (North) assembly seats.

As per latest trends, the 28 assembly constituencies where the BJP candidates are leading include Umerkot and Jharigaon. While Nityanand Gond of BJP is ahead in Umerkot, Parsuram Majhi is leading in Jharigam assembly constituency, they said.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) candidate Mahesh Chandra Hembram is leading over his BJD rival Amar Singh Tutu in Saraskana assembly segment.

In Dharmagarh, independent candidate Rabindra Kumar Pattajosi is leading over his nearest BJD nominee Mousadhi Bagh.

First Published: Thu, May 23 2019. 13:01 IST