You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Over 24 per cent polling till 1100 hrs in UP

Press Trust of India  |  Lucknow 

Over 24 per cent polling has been recorded till 11 am in the eight seats of western on Thursday in the first leg of the seven-phased

Three Union ministers-- V K Singh (Ghaziabad), (Baghpat) and (Gautam Buddha Nagar) are in the fray in this phase.

In a statement issued here, the said, 25.60 per cent polling was recorded in Saharanpur; 24 per cent in Kairana; 26.4 per cent in Muzaffarnagar; 25.10 per cent in Bijnor; 21.80 per cent in Meerut; 25 per cent in Baghpat; 22.40 per cent in Ghaziabad and 24.24 per cent in

The ruling is making all-out efforts to retain all the eight seats while the fledgling Samajwadi Party-Bahujan Samaj Party-alliance too is going whole hog to upset the saffron party's apple cart.

In the 2014 parliamentary elections, the BJP had won all the eight seats-- Saharanpur, Kairana, Muzaffarnagar, Bijnor, Meerut, Baghpat, Ghaziabad and

The communally sensitive seat of Muzaffarnagar will see a clash of titans with locking horns with sitting BJP lawmaker

For the saffron party, the parliamentary constituency holds immense significance as it had tasted defeat in the by-election last year.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for this phase and over one lakh security personnel have been deployed to ensure free and fair polls, Additional Director General, of Police said.

In the first phase, 1,50,65,682 voters-- 82,24,835 men, 68,39,833 women and 1,014 third gender-- are eligible to exercise their franchise in 16,518 booths set up inside 6,716 polling centres to decide the fate of 96 candidates.

Prominent among those in the fray include-- (Congress) and Raghav Lakhanpal (BJP) from Saharanpur, and (SP) from

In Bijnor, candidate and former UP (during Mayawati's tenure) Naseemuddin Siddiqui will challenge Raja Bharatendra Singh, while in Meerut, BJP's will be hoping for a repeat of 2014, while BSP's Hazi will be trying to checkmate him.

In Baghpat, is pitted against Jayant Chaudhary (RLD), son of

of the is contesting against V K Singh, while in Gautam Buddh Nagar, it is and BJP candidate versus of the

Politically crucial sends 80 MPs to the Lok Sabha. Of the 80 seats in UP, SP is contesting on 37 seats, BSP on 38 seats, and the RLD will contest on three seats. UP will have seven-phase polling.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Thu, April 11 2019. 12:20 IST