You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Pawar heads GoM on land acquisition bill

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Minister of State for Prime Minister's Office V Narayanasamy is the special invitee to the 14-member GoM including Defence Minister A K Antony, Finance Minister P Chidambaram, Petroleum Minister Jaipal Reddy, Urban Development Minister Kamal Nath, Commerce Minister and Highways Minister C P Joshi.

Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation Minister Kumari Selja, Social Justice Minister Mukul Wasnik, Minister Salman Khursheed, Tribal Affairs Minister V Kishore Chandra Deo, Rural Development Minister and Deputy Chairman, Montek Singh Ahluwalia are the other members of the GoM.

A number of ministers including Kamal Nath, Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh, Corporate Affairs Minister Veerappa Moily and Transport Minister C P Joshi had voiced reservations over certain provisions in the bill.

had also suggested that the bill be put on hold till the concerns are addressed.

Rechristened as 'The Right to Fair Compensation, Resettlement, Rehabilitation and Transparency in Land Acquisition' Bill, it has been hanging fire for long even though the National Advisory Council headed by has been pushing for the and even has framed its broad contours.

The Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement Bill, 2011 was introduced in Parliament in September last year and was referred to a Parliamentary Standing Committee, which submitted its recommendations in May.

First Published: Thu, September 20 2012. 20:45 IST