You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

Pujara, Jadeja in Saurashtra squad for Vijay Hazare Trophy

Press Trust of India  |  Rajkot 

Team players Cheteshwar Pujara and have been included in the Association (SCA) team for the upcoming

The SCA announced their inclusion in the team Sunday.

The will be played in where last year's runners-up will play their first match against Uttar Pradesh Association (UPCA) on September 19, the SCA said in a

will play eight matches in the tournament.

However, Pujara, a Test specialist, and Jadeja, an all-rounder, may miss the fifth match, to be played on September 30, and the remaining matches, if they are selected in the national side for the next month's Test series at home against the

When contacted, SCA told PTI, "Pujara and Jadeja have been included in the squad. The duo will play first half of the tournament as will start their tour by playing the first Test at the SCA stadium at Khandheri here on October 4."

Pujara and Jadeja have been the star performers for Saurashtra in domestic matches.

During the recently concluded Test series against England which lost by 1-4, Pujara scored a century and a half-century, while Jadeja, who played only the last Test, shone with both bat and ball.

"The first Test match between India and the West will start from October 4 at the The two players are likely to miss second half of the Vijay Hazare Trophy," Shah said.

The SCA team management has not yet declared the However, Pujara is likely to lead the side in the prestigious domestic tournament, while Jaydev Shah may be the in his absence.

Team: Jaydev Shah, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Sheldon Jackson, Jaydev Unadkat, Samarth Vyas, Arpit Vasavada, Avi Barot, Prerak Mankad, Chirag Jani, Dharmendra Jadeja, Kamlesh Makwana, Yuvraj Chudasama, Saurya Sanandiya, Agnivesh Ayach and Hardik Rathod.

(This story has not been edited by Business Standard staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

First Published: Sun, September 16 2018. 15:45 IST