You are here: Home » PTI Stories » National » News
Business Standard

'Sangita Kalanidhi' award for ace violinist Kanyakumari

Press Trust of India  |  Chennai 

The Music Academy here today unanimously chose versatile violinist Kumari A Kanyakumari for its coveted Sangita Kalanidhi Award.

An outstanding violinist, A Kanyakumari was chosen unanimously for the award by the executive committee of the Academy in its meet held today.

She will also preside over the 90th annual conference of the music academy to be held from 15 December to 1 January 2017 here, president of the academy, N Murali said in a press release today.

"Kanyakumari is a top ranking Carnatic violinist whose experience spans over 50 years as an accompanist, soloist and a teacher," he said.

She is the first female violinist ever in the history of the academy to have been chosen for the prestigious award which will be conferred on her on January 1, 2017 at the 'Sadas.'

The Sangita Kala Acharya Award (two awards) will be conferred on Rudrapatnam brothers, RN Thyagarajan and RN Tharanathan (Vocal duo) Prof K Venkataramanan (Vocalist and music teacher), the release said.

TTK Awards will be conferred on vocalist Nirmala Sundararajan and Thevaram (ancient Shaivite Tamil hymns) Singer and teacher M Kodilingam.

While the musicologist award will go to Rama Kausalya, the Pappa Venkataramiah Award for violin will be presented to Sikkil Baskaran. The awards will be conferred on January 1, 2017.

Eminent bharatanatyam dancer and choreographer, Malavika Sarukkai will receive the Natya Kala Acharya Award for dance on January 3, 2017 at the inaugural of a dance festival.

First Published: Sun, July 24 2016. 16:48 IST