You are here: Home » Sports » Cricket » Cricket News
Business Standard

David Warner, pace trio to skip Australia's ODI series in Pakistan

All four will play in the three-test series that starts March 4 before leaving to participate in the Indian Premier League

Australia cricket team | Cricket Australia | Pakistan cricket

AP  |  Melbourne 

David Warner, India vs Australia
File Photo

Veteran batter David Warner and frontline pace bowling trio Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood will skip the limited-overs formats of Australia's first cricket tour to Pakistan since 1998.

All four will play in the three-test series that starts March 4 before leaving to participate in the Indian Premier League.

Glenn Maxwell has also been given time off and wasn't included in Australia's 16-man squad for the three one-day internationals and the Twenty20 International in Pakistan.

Australia's selection committee chief George Bailey said with so much international cricket coming up across three formats, selectors needed to continue to be quite pragmatic in how we approach each series.

The is set to start April 2. Australia is scheduled to play test matches against Pakistan from March 4-8 at Rawalpindi, March 12-16 at Karachi and March 21-25 at Lahore before the three ODIs in Rawalpindi on March 29, 31 and April 2 and the T20 on April 5.

We've worked really hard with our multi-format players over a long period, not just this series coming up and leading into the IPL, Bailey said Tuesday.

One of the things we're keen to ensure is we maintain having our best players playing for Australia for as long as possible.

We're constantly managing and working with them around their personal situations to get what they need and continue to get what they need."

Australia will have two wicketkeepers for the white ball matches, with test gloveman Alex Carey staying on and Josh Inglis joining the squad for the limited-overs portion of the tour.

Steve Smith, who missed half of Australia's recent T20 series win over Sri Lanka after sustaining concussion, is expected to play a full part in the Pakistan tour.


Australia's limited-overs squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis and Adam Zampa.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Tue, February 22 2022. 14:50 IST