Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Chhattisgarh


Chhattisgarh is state in central India that was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in the year 2000. It has 11 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party had won 10 of those 11 seats with a vote share of 49.7 per cent. The Indian National Congress, with a vote share of 39.1 per cent, had bagged the only seat of Durg.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Chhattisgarh had a total of 17,664,520 registered electors, of whom 69.39 per cent, or 12,256,962, exercised their right to franchise across 21,424 polling stations to choose their 11 Members of Parliament from among 189 candidates.
The state has 90 Assembly constituencies. In the previous state elections, held in 2018, the Indian National Congress registered a thumping victory in the state, winning 68 seats with a 43.9 per cent vote share. The Bharatiya Janata Party, facing incumbency challenges, was able to win 15 seats with a vote share of 33.6 per cent. The remaining 7 seats were bagged by other parties with a combined vote share of 22.5 per cent. At present, the chief minister of Chhattisgarh is Bhupesh Baghel of the Indian National Congress.