Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Himachal Pradesh


The North Indian hilly state of Himachal Pradesh has 4 seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Bharatiya Janata party had won all four with a vote share of 53.9 per cent. The party’s Anurag Singh Thakur won from the Hamirpur seat, party veteran Shanta Kumar from Kangra, Ram Swaroop Sharma from Mandi, and Virender Kashyap from the reserved seat of Shimla. The Indian National Congress, which polled 41.1 per cent votes, failed to win any seat.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Himachal Pradesh had a total of 4,810,069 registered electors, of whom 64.45 per cent, or 3,100,199, exercised their right to franchise across 7,385 polling stations to choose their 4 Members of Parliament from among 38 candidates.
The state has 68 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2017, the Bharatiya Janata Party had emerged as the single largest party here, winning 44 seats with a 49.2 per cent vote share. The Indian National Congress was second with 21 seats and 42.1 per cent votes. With a combined vote share of 8.7 per cent, the other parties and independent candidates won 3 seats in the state Assembly. At present, Jai Ram Thakur of the BJP is the chief minister of Himachal Pradesh.