Lok Sabha Elections 2019
You are here » Home » Elections » Lok Sabha Elections 2019 » Meghalaya


Meghalaya, one of the eight states in Northeast India, has two seats in the Lok Sabha. In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress and the National People’s Party had won a seat each with vote shares of 39 per cent and 22.8 per cent, respectively.
At the time of the previous general elections in 2014, Meghalaya had a total of 1,567,241 registered electors, of whom 68.80 per cent, or 1,078,295, exercised their right to franchise across 2,562 polling stations to choose their 2 Members of Parliament from among 10 candidates.
The state has 60 Assembly constituencies. In the previous Assembly elections, held in 2018, the Indian National Congress had won 21 of these with a vote share of 28.8 per cent. The National People’s Party had won 19 with a 20.8 per cent vote share. The other parties and independent candidates, with a combined vote share of 50.4 per cent, had won 19 seats in the state Assembly. At present, Conrad Kongkal Sangma of the National People’s Party of the chief minister of Meghalaya.