You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

Covid-19: India to launch phase 2 of Vande Bharat Mission from US on May 16

Air India will operate 7 flights to bring back countrymen from the United States

Vande bharat | Coronavirus | Air India


Medics screen a passenger after an Air India Express flight brought stranded Indian nationals from Abu Dhabi, UAE, as part of the repatriation exercise ‘Vande Bharat Mission’, at the airport in Kochi. Photo: PTI
Post phase two, apart from Air India commercial carries may be allowed to land on Indian ports

India will launch the second phase of 'Mission' from the United States on May 16 under which will operate 7 flights to bring back countrymen from the United States.

These will be a repeat of the same cities as phase one as flights will originate from San Francisco, Washington DC, Chicago and New York. However, the onward and final destination will not remain the same.

A total of 7 flights will be a part of the second phase break down. Two flights are scheduled to depart from San Francisco, one from DC, two from Chicago and other two from New York, news agency ANI reported.

Under the ongoing phase one, 1,200 Indians will fly back to India on 7 flights operated by The mission in the United States was started from San Fransisco on May 9.

ALSO READ: Vande Bharat Mission: Over 700 Indians return home; more flights on Day 7

Post phase two, apart from Air India, commercial carries may be allowed to land on Indian ports.

Officials told ANI: "I suspect there might be phased reopening of commercial flights post the second phase."

The second phase of 'Mission' will be launched from May 16-22 during which 149 flights, including feeder flights, will be operated to bring back Indians from 31 countries.

In this phase, 31 flights are expected to land in Kerala, 22 in Delhi, 17 in Karnataka, 16 in Telangana, 14 in Gujarat, 12 in Rajasthan, nine in Andhra Pradesh, seven in Punjab, six each in Bihar and Uttar Pradesh, three in Odisha, two in Chandigarh, and one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Jaipur, Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh.

First Published: Wed, May 13 2020. 12:55 IST