You are here: Home » Current Affairs » News » National
Business Standard

'Path-breaking novelist' Amitav Ghosh wins Jnanpith Award for 2018

The writer, in a tweet, said he was "honored and humbled"

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Amitav Ghosh
Born in Kolkata in 1956 to a Bengali Hindu family, the 62-year-old author currently lives in New York with his wife Deborah Baker

has been honoured with this year's Jnanpith Award, a literary award given to an for "outstanding contribution towards literature", announced Friday.

"is a path-breaking In his novels, Ghosh treads through historical settings to the modern era and weaves a space where the past connects with the present in relevant ways.

"His fiction is endowed with extraordinary depth and substance through his academic training as a historian and a social anthropologist," a statement from read.

The decision was taken in a meeting of chaired by eminent novelist,

Ghosh, one of the most prominent contemporary Indian writers, is known for a series of novels such as "Shadow Lines", "The Glass Palace", "The Hungry Tide", and Ibis Trilogy -- "Sea of Poppies", "River of Smoke", and "Flood of Fire" -- chronicling the Opium trade between and run by the Company.

The writer, in a tweet, said he was "honored and humbled".

In another tweet responding to a fan, he said, "this is an amazing day for me. I never thought I would find myself on this list, with some of the writers I most admire."

Born in in 1956 to a Bengali Hindu family, the 62-year-old currently lives in with his wife

Ghosh, who spent his formative years in India, and Sri Lanka, studied in Delhi, and

His most recent book, "The Great Derangement; Climate Change and the Unthinkable, a work of non-fiction", was released in 2016.

Ghosh is also recipient of the Padma Shri and Sahitya Akademi Award.

Some of the biggest Indian writers have been awarded with this prestigious literary recognition. Major names among the 58 recipients include literary icons Krishna Sobti, Kedarnath Singh, Shrilal Shukla, Nirmal Verma, Girish Karnad, Mahasweta Devi, and U R Ananthamurthy.

First Published: Fri, December 14 2018. 17:20 IST