You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

National Industrial Corridor Development Authority on anvil

Proposal for Cabinet by the end of this month

Nayanima Basu  |  New Delhi 

The Narendra Modi government is giving shape to a National Industrial Corridor Development Authority (NICDA), to consolidate the financing and to expedite the massive work on the economic corridors. A proposal to this effect will be moved to the Cabinet for approval by the end of this month.

"We will be approaching the Cabinet by the end of this month with the proposal to set up NICDA," a senior official from the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion, which would administer the authority, told Business Standard.

The body will have a financial corpus of Rs 19,000 crore and it will be headed by a CEO. It will also be entrusted with the work of planning and designing of the corridors.

The government has so far conceptualised five economic corridors: Delhi-Mumbai Industrial Corridor (DMIC), Bengaluru- Mumbai Economic Corridor (BMEC), Chennai-Bengaluru Industrial Corridor (CBIC), Visakhapatnam-Chennai Industrial Corridor (VCIC) and Amritsar-Kolkata Industrial Corridor (AKIC).

According to the plan, out of the Rs 19,000-crore corpus, around Rs 2,000 crore will be allowed for four industrial corridors and the rest will be set aside for DMIC.

Work on DMIC got delayed and it has now reached the take-off stage, said the official cited above.

"The state governments through which these corridors are passing have all been asking from us for clear terms of reference under the special purpose vehicles (SPV) that are going to be soon established," he said.

This is an expensive project so the government has decided to keep the highest possible funds for this corridor, the official added.

Except for the funding part, the DMIC will not be administered by the NICDA. The body's main function will be planning and designing of the other four corridors in terms of creation of investment zones, special economic zones and industrial parks.

Recently, commerce minister Nirmala Sitharaman had said in the Rajya Sabha that BMEC, VCIC and AKIC are in the initial stages of implementation, whereas master planning for all the three nodes in CBIC and all nodes except for 'Dadri-Noida-Ghaziabad' Investment region under DMIC has been completed.

The DMIC covers six states including, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat and Maharashtra. BMEC will cover Karnataka and Maharashtra, while the CBIC is expected to cover Tamil Nadu, Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh.

On the other hand, the VCIC plans to include only Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. Lastly, the AKIC is expected to run though seven states - Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Jharkhand and West Bengal.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, May 11 2015. 00:45 IST