You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

NCP will not oppose statehood for Vidarbha: Sharad Pawar

Sanjay Jog  |  Mumbai 

Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) supremo, Sharad Pawar has announced his party will not oppose statehood for Vidarbha.

"We will not come in the way of a decision on Vidarbha," Pawar had said while speaking to reporters in the national capital on Thursday (January 31).

NCP state party spokesman Nawab Malik later reiterated Pawar’s stand, stating that his party has always been in favour of smaller states.

Pawar’s statement is being seen as a bid to lure voters from Vidarbha to the NCP in the run up to the parliamentary and Maharashtra assembly elections slated for 2014.

Of the 62 assembly seats in Vidarbha, NCP had won 5 in the elections held in 2009 while union minister Praful Patel is the lone member elected to the Lok Sabha during the last general elections.

Pawar’s statement comes at a time when Vidarbha has been in the for Coalgate, the multi-crore Maharashtra irrigation scam and suicides by farmers. More recently, BJP’s former president Nitin Gadkari, who hails from Vidarbha’s biggest city, Nagpur, shot into the limelight for alleged irregularities relating to his Purti Group of Industries.

Besides, a section of the Congress party, including party general secretary and former minister Vilas Muttemwar, have been quite consistent in opposing the development of power projects with a total generation capacity of 68,000 MW in coal-rich Vidarbha and not in the rest of Maharashtra.

Muttemwar told Business Standard, “We have faith and confidence in the Congress leadership. We are quite hopeful that the party will take a proper decision in the larger interests of Vidarbha.”

However, state party spokesperson Ratnakar Mahajan said Pawar’s statement has been quite consistent with his stand since his days in the Congress party. “So, there is no need to read any further into Pawar’s statement,” he noted.

The BJP, which has been in favour of a separate Vidarbha state, has so far miserably failed to galvanise necessary support and also bring its over two decade-old electoral ally, the Shiv Sena on board. The Sena is opposed to statehood for Vidarbha while its offshoot, the Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) has yet to open its cards in this regard.

BJP legislator from Nagpur, Devendra Phadnis reiterated that his party “was committed a100 per cent to statehood for Vidrbha. “Ironically, the Congress and the NCP have been opportunists on this issue. Let Pawar extend tacit support to Vidarbha just like Telangana. I will be the first to garland him. Our party will support him.”

The Shiv Sena’s group leader in the state assembly, Subhash Desai however declared that his party favours a united Maharashtra and would continue to strongly oppose statehood for Vidarbha.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Mon, February 04 2013. 00:18 IST