You are here: Home » Economy & Policy » News
Business Standard

Poll-related cases cross 1,000 in Mysore

BS Reporter  |  Chennai/ Mysore 

The number of cases registered after the announcement of until April 14 had crossed the four figure mark in the Mysore parliamentary constituency. Of the 1,023 cases registered, 603 were from Mysore city, 171 from Mysore district and 249 from Kodagu district. These included 38 excise cases, Kodagu district topping with 25 cases, head of Model Code of Conduct Implementation Team B Ramu said.

At Chennaiah Circle in Nazarbad, a vehicle was found carrying Rs 2 lakh in cash without any documents. It was seized on its way to the railway station. After second randomisation, the Mysore district election authorities have dispatched electronic voting machines (EVMs) required for polling in the Mysore parliamentary constitutency.

In all, 2,071 are required for the eight Assembly segments in the constituency. This comprises reserve As against this, 2,323 are available for 1,801 polling stations in the constituency. While the newly-included Madikeri and Virajpet Assembly constituencies in Kodagu district under the Mysore Lok Sabha constituency require 262 and 285 EVMs for 228 and 248 polling stations, the total EVMs available for these two constituencies are 737.

Chamundeswari in Mysore district requires the highest of 320 EVMs and it has 278 polling stations and the EVMs available are 275. Hunsur follows with 244 polling stations, requiring 281 EVMs, while 249 EVMs are available.

The number of polling stations, EVMs required and EVMs available for the other Assembly constituencies are as follows: Periyapatna: 188, 216 and 222. Krishnaraja: 203, 233 and 241. Chamaraja: 205, 236 and 300, and Narasimharaja: 207, 238 and 299.

According to deputy commissioner and district election officer (DEO) P Manivannan, 2,074 postal ballot papers were dispatched to service voters in the Mysore parliamentary constituency yesterday. Of them, 1,635 are men and 439 are women. The Election Commission has made it clear that loudspeakers cannot be used in moving vehicles during the campaign in the state. The EC direction had come into effect on April 15.

To vote besides the photo identity cards, voters can produce any other 13 documents and exercise their franchise, the DEO made it clear. These include passport, driving licence, pan card, bank passbook, pension passbook, employment ID card of government institutions, land patta and STôSC/OBC caste certificates with photo identity.

The DEO defended the change in the order of candidates contesting the election from the Mysore Parliamentary constituency. The list on the last date of withdrawal of nominations on April 13 showed Janata Dal (S) candidate B A Jivijaya on top.

However, the list released subsequently showed the name of the Congress candidate H Viswanath on top. As a result, JD (S) election agent R G Narasimha Iyengar has filed an objection with the DEO.

Defending that the change in order of candidates was effected according to regulations, Manivannan said the name of the Congress candidate both in the voters’ list and in the nomination papers showed as ‘Adaguru H Viswanath’ and hence alphabetically his name was listed on top.

This had been clarified to the JD (S) election agent.

First Published: Fri, April 17 2009. 00:16 IST