You are here: Home » Elections » Assam Election » News
Business Standard

Assam polls: Congress announces names of candidates for three more seats

Congress on Wednesday announced three candidates for three Assembly seats in Assam going to polls in the third phase.

Assam assembly polls | Assam | Congress


Congress forms screening committee for West Bengal elections
Congress logo

on Wednesday announced three candidates for three Assembly seats in going to polls in the third phase.

The party fielded Abdur Rahim Ahmed from Barpeta, Mira Borthakur Goswami from Guwahati West, and Anowar Hussain from Hajo constituencies for Assembly elections.

Polling for the 126-member assembly will be held on March 27, April 1, and April 6. The counting of votes will take place on May 2.

In 2016, the BJP scripted history and formed the government for the first time in the state ending Congress's 15-year rule. BJP and its allies AGP and Bodoland People's Front (BPF) won a combined 86 seats in the 126-member Assam assembly. BJP had bagged 60 seats, AGP 14, and BPF 12 seats.

This time the BPF has joined the Congress-led coalition 'Mahajath' after breaking away from the BJP-led

BJP is contesting the polls in Assam in alliance with Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and United People's Party Liberal (UPPL) alliance.

(Only the headline and picture of this report may have been reworked by the Business Standard staff; the rest of the content is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)

Subscribe to Business Standard Premium

Exclusive Stories, Curated Newsletters, 26 years of Archives, E-paper, and more!

Insightful news, sharp views, newsletters, e-paper, and more! Unlock incisive commentary only on Business Standard.

Download the Business Standard App for latest Business News and Market News .

First Published: Thu, March 18 2021. 09:07 IST