Business Standard

Chhattisgarh Assembly polls 2018: Congress to name candidates soon

Candidates can withdraw their nominations till November 5 after which 72 constituencies would go to polls on November 20

Chhattisgarh Assembly Elections 2018  |  Chhattisgarh Elections  |  Chhattisgarh Polls 2018

Press Trust of India  |  New Delhi 

Rahul Gandhi, Congress
Rahul Gandhi

The Congress' Central Election Committee (CEC) chaired by Rahul Gandhi Friday finalised candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Chhattisgarh and their names will be disclosed in a day or two.

According to sources, members of the CEC that met here this evening deliberated on party candidates for the first phase of polling on November 12.

The names of the candidates will be declared in a day or two.

As many as 18 Maoist-affected constituencies of the state would witness polling in the first phase, while the rest 72 constituencies would vote in the second phase on November 20. Votes will be counted on December 11.

The process of nomination filing will start with the issuance of a gazette notification for the first phase on October 16. The last date for filing nominations is October 23 and scrutiny would be completed by the next day.

Withdrawal of candidatures can be allowed till October 26 for the first phase.

Similarly, the gazette notification for the second phase will be issued on October 26 while the last date to file nominations will be November 2 and scrutiny will be completed by the next day.

Candidates can withdraw their nominations till November 5 after which 72 constituencies would go to polls on November 20.

According to the Election Commission, there are total 1,85,45,819 voters including 92,95,301 men, 92,49,459 women and 1,059 third-gender voters in the state.

The state has 23,632 polling booths, out of which 19,240 are in rural and 4,392 in urban areas.

Out of 90 constituencies in 27 districts, 18 in 16 districts are Left Wing Extremism (LWE) affected and sufficient security forces are being arranged for polls.

The BJP is in power in the state since 2003. In the 2013 Assembly polls, it got 49 seats while the Congress won 39 and one seat each was won by the BSP and an Independent.

The Congress is seeking to oust the Raman Singh government in Naxal-affected Chhattisgarh. The BJP has ruled the state for three successive terms.

Dear Reader,

Business Standard has always strived hard to provide up-to-date information and commentary on developments that are of interest to you and have wider political and economic implications for the country and the world. Your encouragement and constant feedback on how to improve our offering have only made our resolve and commitment to these ideals stronger. Even during these difficult times arising out of Covid-19, we continue to remain committed to keeping you informed and updated with credible news, authoritative views and incisive commentary on topical issues of relevance.
We, however, have a request.

As we battle the economic impact of the pandemic, we need your support even more, so that we can continue to offer you more quality content. Our subscription model has seen an encouraging response from many of you, who have subscribed to our online content. More subscription to our online content can only help us achieve the goals of offering you even better and more relevant content. We believe in free, fair and credible journalism. Your support through more subscriptions can help us practise the journalism to which we are committed.

Support quality journalism and subscribe to Business Standard.

Digital Editor

First Published: Fri, October 12 2018. 22:25 IST